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INITIAL APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION 
 

Submission of your application may be made directly to the Board’s email at 

info@massageboard.az.gov or via regular mail. All application materials become the permanent 

property of the Board and will not be returned. 
 
Qualifications for an Arizona massage therapy license: 
An applicant may qualify for an Arizona massage therapy license by one of the following 

processes: 
 

1.   Regular license (A.R.S. § 32-4222 and A.A.C. R4-15-201) 

The applicant is seeking licensure based on having graduated from a massage 

school with a minimum of 700 hours. If graduated from a school outside of Arizona, 

the applicant has passed the national licensing exam from either the FSMTB or the 

NCBTMB. 
 

2.   License by reciprocity based on out-of-state license (A.R.S. §§ 32-4222 & 32-4223 and 

A.A.C. R4-15-203) 

The applicant is seeking licensure based on having been licensed in another state 

or United States territory for at least two of the last five years immediately 

preceding the application. 
 

3.   License by reciprocity based on NCBTMB certification (A.R.S. §§ 32-4222 & 32-4223 

and A.A.C. R4-15-203) 

The applicant is seeking licensure based on holding a current certification from the 

National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork and has 

graduated from a massage school with a minimum of 500 hours. 
 

4.   License by universal acceptance (A.R.S. § 32-4302) 

The applicant is seeking licensure based on holding a license in another state or 

United States territory for one year and is active at the time of application, and the 

applicant has established residency in the State of Arizona. 
 

Payment: 

The applicant shall file with the Board of Massage Therapy (“Board”) an application, accompanied 

by the total fee of $217.00, ($195.00 application fee + $22.00 background check fee). Payment 

may be made with physical money order or cashier’s check. PLEASE NOTE: All fees are non-

refundable, pursuant to A.A.C. R4-25-103. Additionally, pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1080.01, if the 

applicant is applying for an Arizona massage therapy license for the first time and the applicant’s   

family income does not exceed 200% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines, the applicant may 

qualify for a one-time waiver of the Board’s application fee of $195.00. 

The Americans with Disabilities Act: Persons with disabilities may request reasonable accommodations, such as 

sign language interpreters. Requests should be made as early as possible to allow time to arrange the 
accommodation. This document is available in alternative format upon request. 

mailto:info@massageboard.az.gov
https://massagetherapy.az.gov/
mailto:info@massageboard.az.gov
http://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_04/4-15.pdf
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.azleg.gov%2Fars%2F32%2F04223.htm
http://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_04/4-15.pdf
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.azleg.gov%2Fars%2F32%2F04223.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.azleg.gov%2Fars%2F32%2F04223.htm
http://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_04/4-15.pdf
http://www.ncbtmb.org/
https://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_04/4-15.pdf
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.azleg.gov%2Fars%2F41%2F01080-01.htm
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Application Materials: 
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• Completed and signed application 
 

• Payment made online in the amount of $217.00 
 

• A full set of fingerprints on a standard FD-258 fingerprint card for the purpose of obtaining 

a federal and state criminal records check. Available at most local police stations, UPS 

stores, www.arizonalivescan.com or by Googling fingerprint services near you and may be 

submitted, to the Board, no more than 8 weeks prior to the submission of your license 

application 
 

• One  passport quality photograph of the applicant’s head and shoulders no larger than 2 

1/2 by 3 inches taken no more than 60 days before the date of the application 
 

Photo Basics 

Submit a color photo, taken in last 60 days 

Use a clear image of the face 

Do not use filters commonly used on social media 

Use a plain white or off-white background 
 

• A legible copy (front and back) of a document from the Evidence of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. 

National Status, or Alien Status list 
 

• If applicable, written documentation of the applicant’s passing of the Ability-to-Benefit 

examination. This only applies if the applicant did not graduate from high school or receive 

a high school equivalency diploma 
 

• If  applicable,  documentation  related  to  any  Professional  Conduct  question  of  the 

application in which the answer is “Yes” 
 

• Proof of Arizona Residency 
 

 

The following documents are direct source only documents. “Direct source only” means that the 

documents must be submitted to the Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy directly from the 

issuing agency/entity and  cannot be submitted by the applicant. 

 

• Academic transcripts from each Board-recognized school attended 
 

• Written verification of a passing score on the NCBTMB (BCETMB) or FSMTB (MBLEx) 

examination 
 

• Completed  license verification(s) if from each jurisdiction the applicant has ever held or 

currently holds a massage therapy or bodywork license 
 

• Score(s) earned on either the  TOEFL or  TOEIC examination by applicants for whom 

English is not their native language. 

http://www.arizonalivescan.com/
http://www.ncbtmb.org/take-board-certification-exam
https://www.fsmtb.org/mblex/
https://clone-po-az-massagetherapy.pantheonsite.io/sites/default/files/documents/files/Verification_of_Non-AZ_License.pdf
https://www.ets.org/toefl
https://www.ets.org/toeic
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Proof of AZ Residency: 

 

 

 

• A valid Arizona driver’s license 

• A current Arizona motor vehicle registration 

• Proof of filing Arizona income taxes in the most recent tax year 

• Arizona voter registration 

• Documentation of a mortgage for a primary Arizona residence 

• A dated residential rental contract with proof of payment 

• Proof of major banking services in Arizona 

• Proof of establishment of Arizona utilities 

• Proof of enrollment of children in Arizona schools 

• Documentation demonstrating a change in permanent address on all pertinent records 

• Military Form 2058 

 
Evidence of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status or Alien Status: 

If the document you submit does not contain a photograph, you must also provide a government 

issued document that contains your photograph. You must submit supporting legal 

documentation (i.e. marriage certificate) if the name on your evidence is not the same as your 

current legal name. 

 
1.   An Arizona driver license issued after 1996 or an Arizona nonoperating identification 

license. 
 

2.   A driver license issued by a state that verifies lawful presence in the United States. 
 

3.   A birth certificate or delayed birth certificate issued in any state, territory or possession of 

the United States. 
 

4.   A United States certificate of birth abroad. 
 

5.   A United States passport. 
 

6.   A foreign passport with a United States visa. 
 

7.   An I-94 form with a photograph. 
 

8.   A United States citizenship and immigration services employment authorization 

document or refugee travel document. 
 

9.   A United States certificate of naturalization. 
 

10. A United States certificate of citizenship. 
 

11. A tribal certificate of Indian blood. 
 

12. A tribal or bureau of Indian affairs affidavit of birth. 
 

13. Any other license that is issued by the federal government, any other state government, 

an agency of this state or a political subdivision of this state that requires proof of 

citizenship or lawful alien status before issuing the license. 
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Checklist by Qualification Type: 

 
 

Regular: 

Application 

Payment 

Fingerprints 

Photo 

Evidence of Citizenship/Alien Status 

Ability to Benefit 

(if applicable) 

Professional Conduct Docs 

(if applicable) 

Transcripts (700 hrs) 

MBLEx / BCETMB 

(if graduated from a non-AZ school) 

License Verification(s) 

(if applicable) 

TOEFL / TOEIC 

(if applicable) 

 

Reciprocity (Out-of-State License): 

Application 

Payment 

Fingerprints 

Photo 

Evidence of Citizenship/Alien Status 

Ability to Benefit 

(if applicable) 

Professional Conduct Docs 

(if applicable) 

License Verification(s) (2 of 5 yrs) 

 

Reciprocity (NCBTMB certification): 

Application 

Payment 

Fingerprints 

Photo 

Evidence of Citizenship/Alien Status 

Ability to Benefit 

(if applicable) 

Professional Conduct Docs 

(if applicable) 

Transcripts (500 hrs) 

NCBTMB certification 

License Verification(s) 

(if applicable) 

 

Universal Acceptance: 

Application 

Payment 

Fingerprints 

Photo 

Evidence of Citizenship/Alien Status 

Ability to Benefit 

(if applicable) 

Professional Conduct Docs 

(if applicable) 

License Verification(s) (1 yr + Active) 

Residency Proof 

 

After your application is received, Board staff will review your application materials and notify 

you, in writing, of any deficiencies. Please do not be concerned if you receive a deficiency letter. 

Most applicants receive this letter because of the wait time to receive documents from other 

sources. If deficient, your application will remain in “pending” status, for up to 365 days, or until 

all deficiencies are remedied. The fingerprint-review period takes 8-10 weeks to complete. Once 

all necessary information is received, you will be notified, in writing, that your application is 

administratively complete. 
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Other Contact Information: 
 

 Federation  of  State  Mass age  Therapy  Boards  (“ FSMTB”)  

https://www.fsmtb.org/ 

866.962.3926 

 
 National  Certification  Board  for  Therapeutic  Massage  &  Bodywork  ( “NCBTMB”)  

http://www.ncbtmb.org/ 
 

Educational Testing Service for English proficiency test 

TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) 

https://www.ets.org/toefl/ 

877.863.3546 

 
TOEIC (Test of English for International Communication) 

https://www.ets.org/toeic 

609.771.7170 
 
 
 

 

NOTICE TO ALL APPLICANTS: 
 

Pursuant to section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes, an agency shall limit all occupational 

regulations to regulations that are demonstrated to be necessary to specifically fulfill a public health, 

safety or welfare concern. Pursuant to sections 41-1093.02 and 41-1093.03, Arizona Revised Statutes, 

you have the right to petition this agency to repeal or modify the occupational regulation or bring an 

action in a court of general jurisdiction to challenge the occupational regulation and to ensure 

compliance with section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes. 

https://www.fsmtb.org/
http://www.ncbtmb.org/
https://www.ets.org/toefl/
https://www.ets.org/toeic



