To check application status, click Application Status Search Tool...
Welcome to the Arizona Massage Board
ARIZONA LEGISLATURE APPROVES NEW 2023 LAW
HB 2438 - MANDATES AN ACTIVE LEVEL-ONE (NON-IV) FINGERPRINT CLEARANCE CARD FROM DPS
(THIS IN IN ADDITION TO THE INITIAL LICENSE FBI NATIONAL CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK).
ONLINE, GO TO DPS AT:
Select "Apply for a new card"
Complete the printable pdf form, and send, or hand carry, the completed application, FD-258 fingerprint card and fee to DPS
(EXISTING LEVEL-ONE CARD HOLDERS, REGISTER MASSAGE LICENSE WITH DPS)
When DPS issues or updates your existing Level One clearance card, scan and email copy to the Board.
DPS card renews every 6 years with required new fingerprint submission.
State Massage Board Office Hours
Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. MST
Questions for State Board of Licensing staff?
[email protected] Staff responds by email.
U.S. Postal Address
Arizona Massage Board
1740 W. Adams St., S. 3401
Phoenix, Arizona 85007
(Board receives incoming U.S. mail in 10–12 days
after 3-mail room processing)
(License Applications may be left in the AZ Boards Building Lobby, at Window #6 Reception, but applicant assistance is only available from Licensing staff online, or by telephone voicemail).
State Board website: https://massagetherapy.az.gov/
License fee payment is by credit card. The State does not accept cash or personal checks.
NOTE: State licensing fees are non-refundable, pursuant to A.A.C. R4-25-103
Initial State Massage License
The State Board needs a completed and submitted initial license application form, new passport-quality color photograph, authorization number following online credit card fee payment, and an FD-258 inked Federal fingerprint card. School transcripts can only be accepted directly from the school and the national Mblex test results from the FSMTB.
Then, also submit an application at the DPS for their Level-One Non-IVP fingerprint clearance card.
- Initial license applicants still MUST also submit FD-258 Federal inked-print card -
NOTE: Initial Arizona massage license applications require an application, fee payment & required materials.
Current FBI background check processing
averages 12 weeks.
The State Massage Board must wait for Federal national background check clearance before licensing.
When submitting an inked FD-258 Federal fingerprint card, complete all boxes for faster processing.
State License Renewal?
State law permits License Renewal 60 days BEFORE expiration.
Arizona requires 24 Continuing Education hours before submitting a license renewal application, with attached copy of CE certificates.
Nationally-certified CE coursework is completed during the therapist's current-licensing period. Per Arizona law,12 CE hours may be online;
the remaining 12 hours are State-required to be in the classroom, physically, with the instructor. (Live Webinars are not a substitute). Instructors provide attendance verification.
NOTE: State license renewals are now issued for exactly 24 months from the date of origin, no longer expiring on the therapist's birthday.
This was required by the Arizona Auditor General, and retroactively corrected November, 2022.
NEED CE HOURS?
LMT's attending any monthly State Board meeting (virtually), can receive 3 CE hours that will be entered into your licensing record; once each two-year licensing period. There is no charge.
This CE credit is for license renewal only. (On the front website page, click on “Meetings” for future time and dates. The registration link only available before each monthly meeting).
The Arizona Ombudsman-Citizens Aide
Helping citizens resolve service issues with state agencies. CLICK HERE
PUBLIC INFORMATION REQUEST
The public may obtain public records for any Arizona state-licensed therapist, including discipline or administrative letters of concern.
PUBLIC RECORDS REQUEST - Download PDF
Complete, scan and email to Board
Anyone believing to have been "harmed" by a state-licensed massage therapist in Arizona, can submit a written complaint requesting investigative review of the therapist, to the State Board.
Anonymous complaints cannot be legally investigated. Complainant identity is confidential and not publicly-disclosed
COMPLAINT FORM - Download PDF
ONLINE PUBLIC RECORDS REQUEST -
State Board requests that public complaints for investigative review be submitted in writing & emailed to: [email protected]